Opinions diverge on whether the leap in average life expectancy makes a positive feature for almost fields of the community instead of drawbacks. Although this sentient can be justified to some certain extent, I am in opposition owing to some rational reasons.

Admittedly, the aging population is conducive to growing businesses, the economy, and society. When the number of seniors is higher, the demand for using healthcare services hikes. Hence, it results in expanding medical, simultaneously, creating enormous revenues for the economy. Moreover, elderly people can have a part in impulsing the development of society by raising general awareness and taking a part in community services as well as volunteer work. This can be explained by the fact that juvenile delinquency in countries with a young population has an escalation in the crime rate as their awareness, however, the opposite is true for high longevity ones. Strikingly, senior citizens are not full-time employed, they are able to devote themselves to community and government projects after they are retired.

Conversely, I express my strong support that the geriatric population is a vital factor do a great disservice to a country. When it comes to economic development, social welfare and pensions are a drain on public sending, putting heavy pressure on the national budget and manpower. As a result, it requires the government to supplement more resources for aged care, which will leave little support for other areas, causing stagnation in the growth of the economy. For society, a decline in the working-age population leads to a shortage of employers in certain vital sectors, such as technology or computer science, fields that expect creativity and innovation. This means the young workforce have to work hard and have to bear a greater tax burden to take care of themselves as well as the elderly at the same time. To be more accurate, if a country has an aging population, the foreign direct investment for large enterprises will deflate significantly. The reason is that global investors accept to give a huge payment provided that it is extremely high efficiency, while over-the-hill laborers cannot respond to this demand because of their age.

In conclusion, there have been different perspectives about whether the aging population is good or bad for the development of most domains of a country.