‘For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write.’

How far do you agree with this suggestion? How important is it for a child to learn to play a musical instrument, in your view?

There has been much discussion revolving around the issue which the ability to play a musical instrument for all children is just as important as the ability to read and write. In spite of the issue that some people, who could be parents, absolutely agree with this matter, I grudgingly agree. I, furthermore, think it could not be far-fetched to hold the view that playing a musical instrument is not significant for some children.

On the one hand, a proportion of children being disabled children may not have enough ability. Simply put, disable children who have not hands could not play a musical instrument. A good illustration of this is, children who are limited by genetic problems while they were born. This kind of genetic problem can include limited movements in their body, such as their hands, and they could be a person with a different shape of the body. This means, all children may have not enough ability to play a musical instrument whereas they could be intelligent people to be in the highest ranking of education such as Stephen Hawking. Accordingly, I hold the view that playing a musical instrument is not as important as the ability to read and write.

On the other hand, I do believe that learning pieces of music maybe important for children. This is owing to the effect of music on their brains. It means children’s brains, faced with different musical instruments, have a quite better repercussion to decode the problems in their prospects. In fact, let us take the example of a children who had played the piano; these children learned to use both sides of their brain compare to other children. This is mainly because music has worthwhile benefits on children’s brains.

Accordingly, although I agree that musical instruments have an important effect on children's learning, in no way do I agree that play a musical instrument is as principal as reading and writing.