‘All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school.’ How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

Learning a foreign language at an early age is still widely debated. However, to say that children should learn a foreign language as soon as they start school is not always good for them, as we will discuss now.

Perhaps, one major reason for this is children who learn a second language at a younger age become more fluent than those who start later. The simple fact of speaking two languages also means children are raised with a stronger sensitivity to language, making it easier for them to pick up additional languages later in life. This sensitivity to language is also apparent in your child’s reading and writing skills, which will be superior. Other advantages can include stronger motor regions, as well as the ability to pay better attention. Speaking two languages, and knowing when to speak one over the other, means the child has to focus more carefully. Furthermore, having the capacity to switch between two languages is a skill that goes beyond simple linguistics and can improve a child’s multitasking abilities. For young children, growing up learning multiple languages will come as naturally as just learning one — learning languages from birth is the easiest time compared to any other time in life.

I do appreciate the opposing view, which is that children who learn a foreign language may get confused and thus will be slower in their development. However, I believe that such drawbacks would be overcome through a well-scheduled learning schedule to keep their mind focused.

In summary, it seems to me that learning a foreign language at an early age is worth implementing because of the positive impacts that children may gain. This ranges from stronger fluency and multitasking abilities.