Education is considered as the basic of a country’s development. Many propose that government should allocate national’s budget to all levels of education. However, from my perspective, this is not a beneficial decision.

Firstly, it is noteworthy that the payment of governments for the cost of both primary and higher education could bring an economic burden for a country. In fact, lawmakers nowadays have to combat with much more serious problems such as: poverty, starvation, pollution or even terrorism and lack of healthcare services. Therefore, money should be spent reasonably to certain essential sectors.

Secondly, another fact that should be taken into account is that the government’s financial aid can discourage students from pursuing further education. The counter-argument raised by objectors is that free education for higher levels plays a crucial part in opening opportunities for all kinds of students to acquire intensive knowledge. This justification is probably true to some extent, nevertheless it should be acknowledged that students may take this as privilege as a citizen and lose their eagerness if they don’t have to pay for classes. Take America for example: since young adults have to earn money for their study, they need to stay focused in order to pass the tests. The more absence they are marked, the higher chance they have to study that class again.

However, a country’s budget should be allocated to tackle illiteracy by funding primary and secondary school. It is not only raising better human resources but also investing for the future’s economy.

To sum up, under no circumstances should governments overlook the efficiency in spending money on education