Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. What are your views

Cars have shaped our world since they first rolled off mass-production lines in the early 20th century. However pollution from the exhaust fumes of the millions of cars in the world has become a major problem. Therefore, many advocate the use of alternative modes of transport to gas-powered vehicles, and they argue that international laws to restrict private ownership of cars are necessary. I do support these ideas.

The truth is that gas-powered cars have caused a significant rise in greenhouse gases internationally. So the pollutants are airborne where they can mix with water vapor, forming acid rain which is responsible for large-scale habitant loss. Thus, in some countries, electric cars have grown in popularity. Although, they may not always be able to travel the required distances and their modest speeds fail to compete with gas-powered cars, they are cleaner and quieter, and the hope is that, with new battery technology, electric cars would eventually replace conventional cars. Moreover, public transportation has become an intrinsic feature of most modern cities such as London, Paris and Moscow, which boast some of the biggest and busiest underground systems in Europe, and which are continuing to expand, providing services for more people. Besides that, in an effort to reduce the pollution from cars, authorities are promoting electric train systems as an alternative mode of transportation.

Furthermore, international laws can encourage people to use public transport. such as: presenting an environmental tax gas or increasing the taxes on flights so that will lead civilization to embrace buses or electric trains instead of planes or cars. By this way, we can take steps to control the car use as well as car ownership.

In summary, although we cannot deny the contribution cars have made to our lives, we must also recognize the untold harm they cause to the environment. New forms of transportation, using eco-friendly power and worldwide laws to restrict the use of private cars can help save our environment.