The land for parks is wasted and should be used for other purposes. Do you agree or disagree?

Parks are a feature of many, if not most, urban settings. However, there is an argument that the land used for parks in towns and cities should be used for alternative purposes. I strongly disagree with this idea.

Firstly, experts agree that the best way to restore body and mind is to spend time in nature, and do regular physical exercise there. This is crucial because the majority of the population in many countries live in cities. As society becomes more centered on city life, people tend to become sedentary and stay indoors. Recent studies have also shown that spending long periods of time in built-up areas results in a emotional fatigue and poor concentration. On the other hand, time spent in parks has the opposite effects. For example, the British report a high level of satisfaction when they spend most of their holidays outdoors in their National Trust parks. Perhaps the rest of the world should follow their lead.

Moreover, teenagers are the most negatively affected by the city life. Some parents are reluctant to let their children play freely in town, concerned about their health and safety, and so those youngsters miss out on being out in the natural environment and have no chance to do regular physical activities. That leads to an increased risk of childhood obesity and depression.

On top of this, parks provide essential green space in the city and help keep the level of pollutants and greenhouse gases down. Those gases emitted by vehicles are responsible for thousands of deaths per year as well as for the rising incidence of lung cancer in children. However, the vegetation in the parks removes pollutants while the eaves filter the carbon dioxide and release oxygen. Thus, city parks function as a green lung in urban areas which helps keep us healthy.

In summary, although some argue that the land for park in urban areas is wasted, the benefits that parks have been contributing to our societies are undeniable, so obviously I do not support the idea of using that land for other purposes