People have different views about whether governments should be responsible for the provision of support payment since social benefits are open to abuse. From my point of view, I agree with those who argue that a welfare system plays a vital role in a cutting-edge society notwithstanding some potential issues.

From a social and economic perspective, certain financial support and social services from authorities can bring about several significant advantages for not only individuals but also their community as a whole. The first merit could be mentioned is that welfare enables residents, especially those who suffer from unfortunate circumstances, to have a minimal level of well-being. It is undeniable that these payments provide the sick, the disabled, and the unemployed with a subsistence budget to cover their basic needs and lighten their monetary burden as it may be more difficult for them to obtain a job and earn a stable amount of money than the others. Additionally, social securities can be an effective solution to minimize crime occurrence, which is likely to pose a threat and be costly. It is common that poverty leads to illegal behaviors since citizens living in such conditions have to commit thieves, burgaries, robberies, or even murderers to survive their lives. Obviously, providing welfare is more affordable than increasing police patrols or hiring more policemen.

Objectors to a financial safety net hold the opinion that this system can create dependence among members of the society and reduce their motivation to join the labor market. In fact, unless people are incapable of making money due to their health problems, few would opt to rely on such allowance for their whole lives. In the case of jobless individuals, the relief payments are usually temporary. In addition, welfare critics also believe that it might inhibit the development of a country by limiting funds for other essential sectors, however, eliminating welfare programmes is not the answer to this problem. Insteads, governments need to ensure the effectiveness of welfare schemes by paying them to the citizens who are truly qualified to receive it, which can be achieved by investigating the background of the claimed people.

In conclusion, it seems to me that although social welfare is subject to abuse, it is an indispensable element for every nation. Nevertheless, certain regulations should be adopted to ensure the fairness and effectiveness of this measure.