Technology companies are gathering users' private information for many purposes. What problems does this trend cause and what could be done to solve them?

Over the last few years, the advancement of data collection methods has significantly facilitated the approaching customers process of businesses. These days, there are a number of technology organizations that take advantage of their users’ personal details in order to optimize individualized advertisements and for other purposes. Since private information is open to abuse, it is worth examining the possible effects of this phenomenon and recommending actions should be taken to address the issue.

To begin with, providing personal data via online platforms seems to pose several threats to human security. Firstly, if a website does not tighten its protective barriers up, their users may be at a great risk of identity theft. For example, a cybercriminal might benefit himself financially by impersonating the users thanks to the stolen information, then asking their friends and acquaintances for money. Secondly, when people share their address, phone number, birthday and other confidential details, they might have to deal with stalking and harassment. No matter where and when they are, they could be annoyed by spam messages and unauthorized links given by cyber attackers. This is due to the fact that most such media conveys malicious information which helps offenders manipulate users’ thoughts and beliefs gradually.

There are numerous solutions that can be introduced to mitigate the misuse of users databases. From an individual perspective, it is essential for web visitors to be aware of protecting their own privacy. They would be able to avoid their private details being revealed by not submitting their information without investigating whether the internet connection is safe. Additionally, the involvement of the government is necessary to limit the power of online services suppliers. To be more specific, more stricter regulations should be imposed to prevent technology companies from gathering their users’ personal data and exploiting it without the users’ permission.

In conclusion, many potential dangers arise when the owners of digital networks collect users’ confidential information. Fortunately, the detrimental effects of data leakage may be alleviated if the users understand what they should do to ensure their own security, as well as policymakers help to curb database controllability of technology businesses.