It is undoubted that the environment plays an essential part in human’s life since it provides us with most resources of living and directly influences our habitat. These days, however, an enormous number of environmental issues have been taking place on our planet which have negative impacts. While someone believes that the biggest problem is the extinction of certain creatures, I agree with those who argue that other environmental problems are more considerable.

On one hand, there are numerous reasons why the disappearance of particular fauna and flora is one of the most serious threats to our environment. Each species has its own role in the food chain since the loss of a kind of plants or animals can significantly affect the food source of other creatures. For instance, if predatory animals such as tigers and lions which are at the top of the food chain become extinct, it will lead to an uncontrollable rose in the number of herbivores. Unfortunately, this development will be harmful to the agriculture industry since such animals may find food outside their location and eat farm’s products due to the shortage of food in their natural habitat. This will cause scarcity of foods all over the world.

On the other hand, I suppose that other environmental problems such as climate change pose a huger challenge. Due to environmental pollution and the effect of greenhouse gas emission, global warming becomes more dangerous. Polar ice is gradually melting, which threatens that sea levels will markedly rise. As a result, many coastal areas are facing the danger of being submerged to the ocean. Climate change is also one of the major factors of more frequent occurrences of natural disasters such as flooding and droughts, which detrimentally affect food production. In addition, another problem is the influence on both human and other creatures’ health. Several forms of birds can no longer survive in certain high-polluted urban areas as well as residents living in such regions are facing numerous health problems such as cancer and allergy. Obviously, climate change is a more important concern than the extinction of wildlife as the latter is just a consequence of the former.

In conclusion, the loss of biodiversity is certainly a grave issue. However, climate change and its associated problems are more dangerous since they can threaten the existence of life on Earth.