There is a tendency that many countries in different parts of the world are paying an enormous amount of money for space discovery; however, some people think that this budget should be allocated to solve poverty and morbidity. Although space exploration plays a certain role in humankind’s development, I agree with those who hold the opinion that helping the underprivileged is a much more urgent problem that requires prior huge financial support from governments.

Proponents of space exploration may argue that it is a necessary step in the advance of mankind because it holds the ultimate key to the human race’s long-term existence. This is due to the fact that the living conditions all over the world have constantly been under threats from global overpopulation and the over-increasing socio-economic growth. Consequently, the Earth’s natural habitat could be too harsh for human life, which requires the need to seek for other planets to live in. Therefore, spending money in space exploration early can equip mankind with sufficient preparation in terms of both knowledge and willpower for living on a different planet. Additionally, space travel also helps our community to make major strides in numerous fields, including lightweight material in engines and digital optics used in medical diagnostics.

From an economic and humane perspective, I believe that ensuring that every person on earth has a decent standard of living is far more integral to our daily life that needs to take precedence over. Firstly, whereas space exploration is more about the long-term value, current alarming issues such as poverty and diseases right now should also receive meticulous attention since their detrimental influences on human survival appear sooner and clearer. For instance, if a nation cannot take any actions to prevent poverty and health problems from climbing, both domestic and foreign consumption may go down, leading to national and even international economic downturns. Secondly, there is a potential risk that spending billions of dollars and many years exploring space may get nothing in return, while in the same period of time that money could improve the lives of millions of individuals around the world. These billions of dollars could make a considerable difference in their lives by funding programs designed to help to educate, feed, and house the disadvantaged, impoverished, as well as to cure sick people globally, which would be far more significant than the benefits that may be acquired from space exploration.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the benefits of space research to our lives, it seems to me that the priority should be helping people living in poverty, or with serious health problems.