Although more and more people read news on the internet, newspaper will remain the main source of news for the majority ofpeople. To what extent do you agree of disagree?

Its is argued that in spite of the increasing number of people having an interest in online news, newspaper still maintain its importance in providing information for the most people. In my perspective, I totally agree with this opinion for several reasons.

Firstly, the role of newspaper is irreplaceable despite the tremendous popularity of online news because the source of information provided by newspaper is completely selective and objective. The news is collected by journalists living and working all over the world daily. All news selected to print to the newspaper are chosen by a group of professional consultants who have preciously previous experience in this field. In additions, because of high selectivity, the information is usually not influenced by the personal opinion of the writers. Thus readers can have their true perceptions about what they read. It is quite different from many websites of news on the Internet, which often comprise this factor in their articles.

Secondly, reading newspaper is not only a way of entertainment but also creates the virtue of patience for people using this means of news. Nowadays, almost jobs are connected with the convenient functions of the Internet. People have to look at electronic devices’ screen all day. Therefore, reading something not related to Internet will help them to relax their mind. Besides, people have to take a sit and pay all attention on the newspaper leading to the fact that it is quite hard to distract person who concentrates on a certain piece of news. In other words, on the internet, the news is often given as a summary so some time details are omitted, causing readers to misunderstand, while the newspaper seems to provide the most completed version of information. This takes people longer time to make sense of the news

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the people’s increased access to online news does not disprove dominance of newspaper as the main source of news. This is because newspaper gives more selective information and also trains the readers’ patience.