In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for the government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

Currently, in some countries, there is an argument over whether should the government apply a higher tax on fast food because more and more people are dealing with health issues as a result of consuming a huge amount of junk food. Personally, I disagree totally with this opinion.

First and foremost, the price of products is not the only reason why so many people consume fast food. Research on healthyme.com showed that most citizens choose junk food because of its convenience. It is reasonable that due to the fast-paced lifestyles today, people tend to choose to eat outside in fast-food restaurants rather than cooking healthy dishes at home because of time-saving. Secondly, for some people, junk food is their only choice. Thanks to the affordable price of fast food, people with money problems like the homeless, students could have a full meal with enough calories in one dish. In addition, even with normal people, the price of healthy food and organic food is too high for citizens to pay.

Another reason why I support the notion that imposing a high tax on fast food have more potential drawbacks than such benefits is that it would slow down the growth of economics. In fact, there are various prestigious and successful companies producing fast food namely Mc. Donal, KFC is making huge profits to the increase of economics. Furthermore, instead of rising the price of junk food, the government could try some possible solutions. The first thing that they could do is pay more attention to managing advertisements. Replacing fast food commercials with videos about a healthy lifestyle or simple tutorials that guide individuals in cooking healthy foods could reduce the consumption of junk food. Finally, fixing the price of organic food help people have more opportunities to purchase these products.

In conclusion, for these two major reasons I mentioned above, I strongly disagree with the fact that government raise the tax on junk food.