Most young people leave school with a negative attitude toward learnig. Why do you think this is happening? What can be done to encourage them to have a positive attitude?

Although the education level of young generation is higher than before, most of them hold a negative feeling towards learning, especially after graduation. In this essay, I am going to analyze some reasons and suggest feasible solutions to tackle this issue.

To begin with, there are several causes making this matter become more frequent nowadays. One of the most essential ones is the exam and scoring system. Score is an effective tool for teachers to evaluate students; however, score never reflects all students’ abilities and talents. This leads to the fact that some students are sometimes underestimated and hence, they are always being compared with high-score-students. It is obvious that these students will feel depressed, embarrassed and maybe afraid to learn. Another reason is that parents and teachers, in most cases, require children to learning academic subjects that they believe to be essential hen applying for a well-known university or a well-paid job. However, the result is often contrary to their expectations as students seem to have no interest in these subjects. Students who do not have chance to pursue what they want to learn will regard the acquiring academic subjects as a huge pressure put on them. This also creates their unenthusiastic view of studying.

There are numerous actions and approaches that can be applied to reverse this problem. First of all, instead of asking students to learn any subjects, parents and teachers should let them follow their dream and study whatever they want. As “interest is the best teacher”, we only succeed if we have enough passion to do something. Allowing students to choose their favorite subjects is a way to praise them to achieve the betterment in life. Secondly, apart from score of exams, genius talents and moral values should be added as the main criteria of assessment. No one is perfect and students are not exceptions so they should give opportunities to show off their abilities in other aspects of learning.

In conclusion, it is reasonable why the majority of students show negative attitude towards learning, especially after graduation. Let them to learn what they want and judge them in a fairer way are two solutions that can be implemented to create their learning enthusiasm.