Some people believe that air travel shoulf be restricted because it causes serious pollution and uses up the world's fuel resource. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Airplane has become one of the most convenient means of transport in our day-to-day life. However, there exits an opinion that government should prohibit the air travel because it is the culprit of severe pollution and depletion of fuel energy. From my personal perspective, I strongly disapprove of this school of thought for several reasons.

To begin with, traveling by planes is an effective and modern way to help people save time. It is obvious that plane has been the fastest compared with others means of transport like car, subway, boat and so on. For example, if you go from Hanoi to Ho Chi Minh City, you must spend almost 2 days on car but airplane just take you nearly 3 hours, which means you can save more than 1 day for other activities. Besides, plane is also the vehicle with the largest capacity so hundreds passengers can take the same flight to the destination. This leads to the fact that the amount of toxic gases that air travel releases into the atmosphere is equal to other vehicles. Thus, it is impossible to conclude that travelling by plane causes serious air pollution.

More importantly, restricting air travel would affect tremendously to the international tourism as tourism industry is the backbone of many economies of the world. Numerous countries depend heavily on the development of tourism due to its enormous profit contributing to the national budget. If air travel was prohibited, these countries would be stagnated for such a long time without any sign of recovery. Moreover, other businesses involve in tourism such as hotel services and leisure center definitely cannot develop as potentially as they used to. So if we discourage air travel, it would create new and even worse problems.

However, it is undeniable that the descending level of fossil fuels and increasing of pollution are one of the most major consequences of travelling by planes. Instead of restricting air travel, government should find more feasible solution such as using renewable energy for planes or reducing the fumes from other private road vehicles.

In conclusion, despite the fact that air travel causes serious pollutants and uses up the fuel resources, prohibiting it would result in more adverse problems, let alone prevent them. The existing consequences can be dealt with easily by using environmentally friendly energy as an alternative of fossil fuels.