It is better for college students to live far away from home than live at home with their parents. Do you agree or disagree?

Currently, there is a contentious argument over whether undergraduates are better living far away from their hometown than staying under the same roof with their family members. Personally, I totally agree with this opinion because living alone not only gives them opportunities to have new experiences but also helps them become more independent.

First and foremost, studying abroad or living in a place far from home can give students chances to enrich their life experiences. Moving to a different place means that students have to be well prepared to more to encounter any changes like more social relationships, greet with the neighborhoods, have new relationships. For instance, the result from a national survey in Vietnam showed that 75% of Vietnamese students said that their purpose to study abroad is not only to pursue a better education program but also to gain more chances to learn about other country’s culture and have new experiences.

Another reason why I support the notion that college students should live far away from their homes is living without parents allow them to lead a more independent life. Since parents always have a profound impact on their children so when students need to take care of themselves, it can help them to be more responsible with their life. Also, living alone is quite convenient for students, because they do not need to ask parents for permission and become more flexible in timing and living conditions. They have to do all the household chores without their parent’s assistants like cleaning the house, mopping the floor or doing the laundry. So enhancing numerous soft skills, time-management skills and becoming independent are possible consequences.

In conclusion, for the two major reasons I mentioned above, I strongly believe that there are many benefits that students can gain from living far away from their hometown and their parents.