When a new town is planned, it is more important to develop public parks and sport facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time in. Too what extent do you agree or disagree?

When planning a new town, its authority has a tendency to put more effort and emphasis on building public parks and sport facilities than shopping centers for dwellers’ demand in their spare time. From my personal perspective, I strongly approve of this idea for several reasons.

To begin with, providing citizens with sport facilities is an effective way to improve their physical health and thus reduce the government’s budget for medical expenses and social welfare programs in long term. Nowadays, people tend to be reluctant in choosing between leisure activities like watching TV, playing video games and doing sport to keep fit in their free time. In the majority cases, they make the former choice as they blame for lack of public sport facilities. Therefore if the sport centers are provided with various kinds of exercises, town dwellers are more likely to do regular exercise and have a healthier lifestyle leading to the fact that they hardly face up with health-related problems.

Furthermore, a park is not only an ideal place for people to do exercises, especially those are not interested in competitive sports, but it also gives people a sense of unity and belonging to the community. It is obvious that elder people show bigger preference jogging, dancing or relaxing walking in green environment to going to gym clubs as plants and trees can absorb waste gases and provide green shade and comfortable atmosphere to set people in good mood. In addition, those who spend time in the parks can have more opportunities to make friends with other like-minded people. Thus the bond is formed and tightened contributing to the social development of the whole society.

In contrast, government should also take consideration in shopping centers as its main function is for people to purchase various items. People certainly have other demands in their daily which sport facilities and public parks cannot satisfy them.

In conclusion, in the process of urban planning and construction, shopping malls are necessary but the importance of developing port facilities and public parks is undeniable and need to be put more emphasis on.