It is better for college students to live far away from home than live at home with their parents. Do you agree or disagree?

There exists an idea that it is more beneficial for university students to live far away from home than continue living with their mother and father. In my personal perspective, I strongly agree with this school of thought for several reasons.

To begin with, one of the most essential benefits of living outside during college is that students can form a desired virtue of independence. It is undeniable that if their parents live with them, they will try to look after and sometimes influence directly to the students’ decision. They seem to think that their children are not mature enough to decide themselves and are easily to make serious mistakes. This leads to the fact that students depend on parents’ instruction in most cases without having their opinion. Living far away from parents’ care can create more situations for students to take responsibility for their own choice.

Furthermore, instead of living at home, students tend to stay near their university or college. The geographical proximity means that they are given hundreds of opportunities to blend in with people from different cultures and backgrounds. They can participate in many extracurricular activities with their peers and thus, numerous soft skills will be enhanced. They also have to face up with more and more real-life problems which not only enrich their social knowledge but also make them more mature and decisive.

However, it should be noted that there are some risks if students choose not to live with their parents during university time. The most noticeable is about their financial condition. The majority of college students do not have fine jobs due to lack of experience and time. This leads to a problem that students struggle to deal with financial burden. They also do not ask for parents’ help as they want to be independent in every aspect in their day-to-day life.

In conclusion, despite having some drawbacks, living far away from home is more convenient for students to be more mature and independent. Parents should act as advisors, not as instructors, just to make sure their children go the right path.