Multi-cultural societies, in which there is a mixture of different ethnic people, bring more benfits than drawbacks to a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There exists an opinion that cosmopolitan societies are better for the development of a country despite some of their disadvantages. From my personal perspective, I am strongly in favor of this idea for several reasons.

Apparently, a multi-cultural society can bring a wide variety of benefits to the nation in terms of economic development.To begin with, the immigration of people from all over the results in the emergence of a mixture of different cultures. The majority of immigrants are high achievers, such as successful businessmen, people doing intellectual jobs or well-trained students learning abroad. Their arrival not only upgrades the standard of living for the whole community but it also contributes to the national budget because of the taxes. Moreover, they become one of the most vital work force due to their precious experience and investments. This leads to the dramatic development of the economy of the country they immigrate.

In addition, the advantage of a cosmopolitan society can be recognized in the aspect of social. It is undeniable that citizens gain more opportunities to be exposed to distinct culture from all over the world. The practical knowledge took in daily life, for example, about foreign languages or other countries’ traditions, seem to be more useful than the theoretical ones. People, especially children can enrich their global understanding by communicating or cooperating with other from different nations. Hence, they tend to be more open-minded and tolerant of non-indigenous customs.

However, multi-cultural societies have some problems. Some immigrants are found out to be hard to accept the changes in ethnic cultures. They try to maintain their own distinctive characteristics. This can cause some conflicts between the native and people from oversea due to the total different attitudes in some matters.

In conclusion, I believe that the benefits of a multi-cultural society such as economic development or the exposure to cultural diversity outweigh its drawbacks. These disadvantages can be solved with easily over the time.