Some people think that all university students should study whatever thay like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those rrelated to science and technology. Dicuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There exists an opinion that student can choose their major subjects at university basing on what they are interested in. While others argue that they have to study only subjects that will support their life in the future, like those are relevant to science or technology. In this essay, I am going to analyze both views before stating my personal perspective.

On the one hand, “interest is the best teacher” which means only when we have passion for something can we do it better. For example, a poet must love composing prior to creating marvelous poems and a teacher must love teaching and keep students interested in mind. Students at university are not exceptions, specially they are going through the most valuable time in their whole life. If students are required to choose the subject without passion, they will not completely concentrate on studying. In other words, they can be easily distracted by outside temptation, which leads to some unexpected consequences, such as dropping out of school or relating to the society’s evils.

On the other hand, the major subjects at the tertiary education have the direct influence to students’ jobs in the near future. As the world has been developing dramatically day by day, learning something related to science and technology seem to ensure for the career of students after they graduate. Their jobs opportunities vary wildly on several fields leading to the better financial condition in the future. However, students who pursue their favorite subjects at college, sometimes they find it hard to get a job or their job cannot purchase for the individual life, let alone starting family life

In the opinion, I believe that students should be encouraged to study whatever they like as no subject is useless. Science and technology play an important role to the development of our word, but it does not follow that other less practical subjects like literature or philosophy are not useful. These subjects not only enrich people’s knowledge but also provide them essential skills as well as valuable moral lessons.

In conclusion, parents and teachers should give students a chance to study what they are fond of. By doing so, students are able to learn something that really interest themselves and this will to the contributions they make to the world as citizens in the future.