Some people say that with the new technology there is no need to develop handwriting skills anymore. Others believe that it is still necessary to teach handwriting. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In today’s era of modern technology, there exists an opinion that hand writing skill is no need to be preserved and developed. Others; however, believe that nothing can replace the importance of handwriting. In this essay, I am going to analyze both views before stating my personal perspective.

On the one hand, it is reasonable why skills related to using handwriting are less frequent nowadays. This is because of modern technology. It is much more convenient to email to someone than writing a letter. For example, the employees can send an email attachment to their customers to discuss with them online if they cannot meet face to face. In addition, the recipients will get the information sooner instead of wasting a long time of waiting due to the fact that handwritten letter often takes several days to be delivered. Therefore, it can interrupt the work’s fluency.

On the other hand, many people argue that there is no alternative to handwriting skills. Firstly, handwriting is needed to preserve in order to remain the ethnic culture of each country which has been faded day by day. As handwriting reflects the whole national development process, protecting and promoting it is a way to show our appreciation to the previous generations’ contribution to the betterment of the country. In addition, handwritten records like letters are more likely to be kept and re-read, perhaps several times, because it may contain important contents or a meaningful memory to the recipient. For example, teenagers often write a postcard to give their friends some best wishes on their birthday.

In my opinion, I believe that handwriting is a very vital skill to learn because it is the outset of education. No children in the word know how to use computer to text before they can write. Moreover, handwriting is always used in formal situations to show off the respect toward the receiver as it is carefully composed.

To conclude, although there are fewer times that we need to write by hands than in the past, handwriting, on many occasion, is the most appropriate means of communication.