It is better for college students to live far away from home than living at home with their parents. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, it is a highly debatable issue that many people consider university students can gain more benefits from living far away from home than staying with their parents at home. From my perspective, I agree that settling far away from home is valid in some cases. However, I would suppose that the merits of living away from the care of parents are still remarkable.

On the one hand, there are a variety of benefits when young people choose to stay near their university or college. First of all, students can give hundreds of opportunities to integrate with others from different backgrounds and cultures due to geographical proximity. They can join in many extracurricular activities with their friends or share a few stories with each other. Therefore, they may boost harmonious relations with their mates. Furthermore, students are inclined to become more independent and mature. It is true that numerous children are spoilt by their parents, who often treat them like toddlers when they grow up. Thus, being away from parents enables children to learn how to deal with problems in their life. To illustrate, according to TIME, which is one of the most prestigious magazines in the world, independence is a significant factor required for students to succeed and adapt to the competitive world in the future. As a consequence, students may enhance their social skills and hone a set of techniques to survive independently in this harsh world, like managing money, cooking their own meals, and setting up their schedules. Additionally, college students can access several kinds of study facilities, such as libraries, laboratories, and computer rooms, if they stay near the main campus. These locations are conducive to their study progress as well as increasing students' freedom and advancing their self-study abilities.

On the other hand, there are a few drawbacks that have arisen from staying far away from home. First and foremost, it can be seen that living at home brings comfort and convenience for young people. At home, for example, there are high-tech appliances such as vacuum cleaners and washing machines, and children can rely on their parents for help with all chores. By contrast, in the dormitory, they are supposed to do their cooking, wash their laundry, and so on. These methods may create an imbalance between time for studying and relaxing, leading to depression and exhaustion in them. Furthermore, a well-balanced and nutritious diet is available at home, which is extremely vital in boosting young people's fitness. On the contrary, in numerous universities, students complain about the poor quality of food in canteens. Thus, they can feel starved and may cause a few diseases like sickness and dizziness. As a result, their academic performance and social life will be adversely affected.

In summary, there are both benefits and drawbacks of both approaches. Nevertheless, I determined that staying at home with family is a preferred option for students.