Sending criminals to prison is not the best method to dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, it is undeniable that the increase in criminals has been a significant issue in civilization. With the development of modern society, some people argue that a jail sentences is not the best way to solve crime-related problems. To a certain extent, I agree that education is an effective method for reducing the crime rate. However, I also believe that punishment is also necessary to warn offenders not to commit the offence.

On the one hand, the idea of education and training for lawbreakers who are teenagers or misdemeanors is attractive for several reasons. To begin with, it is quite understandable why some people prefer training and knowledge for offenders because sometimes there are cases related to juvenile delinquency and only counseling and orientation can work for them. As an illustration, according to the BBC, which is one of the most famous newspapers in the world, many teens commit crimes because of a lack of general knowledge, so legal courses in schools and universities will help them to distinguish between standard and abnormal behaviour, and can reduce the crime rate easily. Additionally, as poverty is one of the causes of high crime rates, providing job training allows them to find a job. Thus, educating offenders may help them to integrate into the community and live a better life after they finish their punishments.

On the other hand, there is a variety of reasons why I consider that education is not the only solution. Sanctioning a criminal to prison is an efficient way to deter them. It is seen that there are several lawbreakers who take part in criminal activities purposefully, such as robbery, murder, rape, and so on. In that case, if the court does not take any strict action against them and just allows them to attend counseling, these kinds of people will continue to do the same things repeatedly. Therefore, prisons, even if capital punishment is essential to reduce the violence of crimes, which help citizens feel secure about the danger are eliminated. For instance, violent offenders who kill someone need to isolate themselves from the community, so jail is the best deterrent to their actions.

In summary, there are several measures to create a better humanity. While confining dangerous criminals in prison protects the community and ensures the safety of other citizens, education gives people a chance to be productive members of the country. I think that both methods should be given equal consideration.