Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the question of what punishments should be imposed on criminals has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although imprisoning lawbreakers appears reasonable, providing them with education and training should be better solutions.

There are several reasons why the idea of putting criminals into prisons is supported. First, if people committed severe crimes, imprisoning those would be imperative. In fact, in order to ease a sense of anxiety in innocent people, those can harm other people such as murders or terrorists should be socially isolated. Second, sending criminals to jails could act as a deterrent to would-be wrongdoers. This means that this sentence would discourage those who intend to break laws and encourage them to become responsible citizens, which, in turn, the rate of criminals will decrease down the road.

Nevertheless, this could not always the best solution, education and training courses appear more reasonable in some cases where people commit pretty crimes such as pickpocketing or food stealing. First, by attending vocational courses, offenders could make a living after releasing to raise themselves and their families as poverty is to blame for crimes sometimes. In fact, if poor people have jobs to earn money, they will find no motivation to commit crimes, which implies that training programs play an important role in helping criminals. In addition, since lacking education is one of the main culprits for delinquency, sending convicts to school is a win-win solution. Plenty of evidence suggests that illiterate people are easily influenced by evil ones so that providing them with education could help them have a full understanding of laws and crimes.

In conclusion, sending criminals to jails is not the ultimate solution. By introducing rehabilitation programs with education and training, governments could help offenders return to their normal lives and become knowledgeable citizens.