Topic 2: Some people believe that robots will play an important role in our societies, while other argue that robots might have negative impact on society.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that robots might be a helpful resource of energy in our coming life. Others, however, say that robotics could pose a threat to the human being. In this essay, I am going to analyze both opinions before stating my personal perspective.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that thanks to automated machines and processes, factories could significantly increase their profit from sales. It is due to the fast and accuracy of the machines, the number of goods, as well as its quality, would be improved remarkably, which is less money needed to pay than a human worker. Replacing old working methods not only leads to the enhancement of the economy but also saving more time for people to focus on other fields. Moreover, robots can reach places that are dangerous or humans cannot have enough ability to discover so that the mortality rate due to occupational accidents would dramatically decrease. To illustrate, robots can help discover gold mines or send information from the space station. Furthermore, improvement of life quality is one of the robot’s advantages. The most well-known robot with families is the vacuum robot which automatic go around the house to clean dust and come back to charge when it is out of batteries. In addition, humanoids are popularly using in hospitals and nursing homes as assistants with reminding patients to take medicines and more.

On the other hand, robotics technologies and automation also rise the unemployed rate, since the odd jobs and manual labour are replaced by automated machines and processes. This leads to the fact that people would be over-depend on the robot, not only in factories but also at home, when everything can be done by touching, they will be lazy and avoid physical activities. Finally, the scariest consequent is robots might take control of human; once people need robots to finish most of our daily tasks, people could be easy to desperate.

In conclusion, I want to emphasize the importance of robotics in our future because robots are still on evolution. The government should take measures on creating new jobs and managing robotics engineering to mitigate the problems.