More and more plastic is polluting cities, countrywide and oceans in the world. What are the problems caused by plastic wastes? what measures should be taken to solve it?

Being introduced into the global market in the late 20th century as a processed product made from petroleum, plastic has brought both convenience and economic benefits for humanity.The disposal of its waste in various forms; however, has become one of the problems that the whole world is facing at present.

To begin with, people have been suffering from many problems caused by plastic waste. The majority of plastic products is hard to treat or will take hundred years to be completely decomposed. This leads to the fact that companies, factories and even individuals try several ways to treat the plastic waste without wondering whether it has consequences. The most popular way of treatment is to burn the waste. This solution becomes the main reason of air pollution due to an enormous amount of toxic gases such as carbon dioxide, methane… released into the atmosphere. Breathing in such a contaminated environment makes citizens easily have respiratory diseases. In addition, plastic waste also affects negatively to the water environment. It not only causes the clean water scarcity but it also seriously harm to the marine species. The aquatic animals may accidentally eat this waste as food and of course they are indigestible. Many whales, for instance, have died and are found with a lot of plastic bags and cans inside their intestines. The death of these animals results in the ecological imbalance.

To address the environmental problem, numerous imperative measures must be put forward by both individuals and the governments. Each citizen should raise their awareness and responsibility to protect our globe from the plastic waste. For example, they can bring their own bags when they go shopping or use glass bottle instead of buying bottled water in the convenient stores. These small activities have a great influence on reducing the number of plastic products used in our life because the more people take the same action,the more protection to the environment is increased. Another effective solution is to promulgate many laws to control how much plastic waste released daily. The governments should require families, factories and companies not to use products made from poor quality plastic as well as following strictly stages to treat the waste in the right way.

In conclusion, I believe that the plastic waste is the major reason of many environmental problems like air pollution and ecological imbalance. Therefore,, governments and individuals must find out feasible solutions and join hands to eradicate this matter.