It is more important for school children to learn about their local history than the world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, history has been one of the most necessary fields of knowledge that people, especially students, should be taught. There exists an opinion that arquiring the local history is much more essential than the history of the globe. In my perspective, I totally agree with this idea for several reasons.

To begin with, learning about the local history helps to raise the school children’s patriotism as well as their responsibility towards their country. They will be informed of the ancestors’ contribution and achievement throughout the nation’s development. For example, Vietnam suffered from hundreds of wars to defend the territory from the cruel invaders. Therefore, Vietnamese students absolutely need to be informed of this field of knowledge to take pride of what happened in the past. To make it better, they must take actions to continue the glorious national tradition on protecting and developing their country.

In addition, it is more straightforward for pupils to study about the history of their country. In fact, they have heard multiple short historic stories from the adults since they were young. Many historic famous names are quite familiar with them as they are exposes to frequently on their daily lives. In several countries over the world, the importantly historic buildings or the well-known roads are named after these characters, for instance. This is also an effective way to educate children about the national history as well.

To conclude, I strongly believe that more emphasis should be placed on the history of the students’ local areas. Although they also need to be informed of the international history, what belongs directly to where they were born still play an more significant role due to its importance to the students’ awareness and its ease of reception.