Although plastic bottles are causing enormous to the environment, their use and production is still on the rise. Why do you think that is the case? What can be done about it?.

Despite the certain damages of plastic bottles to the environment, they are being produced in larger quantities, and their usage is also increasing year by year. There is a reason why this is the case, I believe that the governments can take some steps to tackle this issue.

The only cause of the rise in plastic bottle use and manufacture is connected with affordability. In producing disposable water bottles, plastics are the cheapest materials for manufacturers to use. This is because they are made from oil and gas which are far more inexpensive natural resources. In terms of consumers, they mainly opt for low-cost production in order to save money. If people are asked to choose whether plastic bottle water or glass bottle one to purchase, the answer of majority of them will be former option because they are cheaper. Therefore, producing and using them is on the rise.

When it comes to solutions, the governments play an important role. A way forward would be to increase the taxes on the production of plastic bottles. As a result, the manufacturers may use them in a smaller amount than ever. Another solution is to educate people about the bad effects of plastic materials to the environment. For example, should the government fund to conduct measures with public or to show in advertisements more specific, people might be discouraged to buy plastic-bottle water. Thus, only governments can solve this problem.

To conclude, this trend is increasing because of affordability of plastic, however, the issue can be solved through increasing taxes and funding to measures and adverts.