In many countries, fast food is becoming cheaper and more widely available. Do the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages?

In many parts of the world, the price of fast food is shrinking as its availability is rising. Although there are benefits that this trend offers, these are negligible compared to the damage that low-cost and easily accessible fast food causes.

To begin with the positives, one of the main advantages of increasingly cheaper fast food is its affordability for people on low income. This is beneficial because it enables them to economize their money, which can further be directed towards other more important needs such as quality education. With respect to more available fast food, it provides consumers with a range of choices. As a result, they can feel a greater sense of autonomy and satisfy their craving for different tastes, which can be empowering.

However, these positive sides come at a cost in light of the drawbacks, the most obvious of which is an adverse impact on public’s health. The reason for this is that such type of food is notorious for poor nutritional value and harmful ingredients, namely saturated fat and sugar. This combination can, in turn, lead to such health issues an obesity, high blood pressure and cardiovascular diseases. Furthermore, the financial burden placed on health services as a consequence of these problems can be unmanageable, which can be more significant than the above benefits.

In conclusion, despite the advantages that increasingly inexpensive and more widely accessible fast food brings, such as helping people to save money and enjoy a variety of choices, these are outweighed by the harm on public health and economic pressure on healthcare system.