In many countries, fast food is becoming cheaper and more widely available. Do the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages

It is true that the number of fast food restaurants is growing every day. Some advantages certain to arise due to this phenomenon, nonetheless, I think that the advantages of this progress will outweigh its disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are some advantages of ubiquitous distribution of fast-foods. First of all, people will not suffer from hunger any more. It is well-known fact that famine was common phenomenon in the past, however, fast food changed this pattern. In other words, due to the low cost and availability people can afford it. For example, more than a third of adults in the United States - about 84.8 million people ate fast food on any given day between 2013 and 2016. Besides, another reason behind fast food popularity is its yummy taste. To put it differently, the concentration of sugar in junk food exceeds all norms, therefore it is so delicious and in demand. As an example, it was reported that average American consume fast food 3 times a week because of its taste.

On the flip side, fast food consumption can cause various diseases. Firstly, fast-foods can contribute to obesity and weight gain because fast food contains a lot of cholesterol, carcinogens and toxic fatty acids which can cause detrimental health problems. For example, scientist Michael Greger find a positive correlation between high body mass index and the intake of fast food. Moreover, diabetes is another problem that can be caused by excessive consumption of unhealthy food. By the way of explanation, fast food can contain high concentration of sugar, namely, even salads and fresh juice can contain sweeteners. In addition, there are saturated fatty acids which are associated with atherosclerosis and heart diseases. Thus, scientists claim that eating fast food can be risky.

In conclusion, nowadays fast food chains in profit because of some positive sides, however, I suppose that ubiquity of unhealthy food brings about more problems compared to any advantages it might bring