In many countries, the number of animals and plants is declining.

Why do you think this is happening? How can this issue be solved?

Today, many nations are facing some problems with the extinction of some animal and plant species. While direct exploitation of biodiversity and global urbanization are the driving factors, some measures can be taken to solve, or at least alleviate, this issue.

Regarding the reasons for such biodiversity loss, I think taking advantage of the natural environment for various purposes stands first. To be precise, in some countries, enough strict laws have not been introduced to stop poachers from hunting animals illegally, thereby resulting in the complete eradication of some creatures. Another driving force might have to do with urbanization. This is because nowadays, forests and some isolated areas, which can be a natural habitat for some unique flora and fauna, are being cleared excessively to expand cities and towns by many businesspeople. This, in turn, is taking its toll by causing a decline in the number of both common and less common plant species.

Nevertheless, there are several ways in which this situation can be mitigated to some extent. Firstly, stringent regulation should be put into practice by those countries where poaching is freely available. If such penalties as heavy fines or even life-long imprisonment for poaching are implemented, people can be deterred from wildlife crime. Secondly, governments should take on the responsibility of reducing urbanization on a global scale. Instead, they can convert existing buildings in urban areas into high-rise structures to accommodate an increasing population. As a result, the remaining plant and animal species in our ecosystem can be rescued.

To conclude, even though unlawful hunting, and increasing numbers of cities can be the main causes of a decrease in the number of plants and animals in some parts of the world, the implementation of strict policies, and diminishing urbanization levels can help to decelerate this growing trend.