Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are diverse opinions among university students about learning extra subjects apart from their main subjects. While some find it useful because of two main reasons, others claim that they should focus on their majors. I tend to agree with the second viewpoint as studying many subjects can lead to several problems.

On the one hand, there might be two driving forces for students behind learning about non-major subjects, one of which is enhanced critical thinking. To be more precise, if students are taught various subjects at university, this can incentivize them to think critically and analyze information from different angles. Furthermore, having knowledge of various subjects can be advantageous in the job market. This is because now employers are seeking for such employees who hold extra knowledge in addition to the major. The banking sector in Uzbekistan is a good example here since if potential workers know languages like Russian or English, they are favored more compared to those who do not. However, this practice may be suitable for only some students, meaning all cannot cope with it.

Some drawbacks might appear when students are forced to learn non-essential subjects. Firstly, balancing multiple subjects can be demanding, which means it might lead to time constrains and potential burnouts. Coursework, assignments and exams with various disciplines can make students struggle in the long run. Moreover, attempting to excel in numerous subjects might result in academic overload. Students usually find it challenging when they are taught unrelated subjects, negatively impacting overall GPA and academic performance eventually. Therefore, they should allocate their time to concentrate on their main subjects by which they can master them without other subject distractions.

To conclude, two main reasons, such as improving critical thinking and winning in the job market, might make some students think about studying a mixture of main and other subjects. Yet, I believe that giving all attention to master the major subjects would be more advantageous.