Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations

University life marks an important milestone in a person’s life as it requires most students to move out and settle in a new place. Others, however, attend universities in their locality. This essay examines the benefits as well as the drawback of both individual cases.

To start, living with your family in one’s university years comes with great benefits, one of which is emotional stability. Those who prefer to go to local universities are generally not required to adapt to a new environment since they already know the place and its people fairly well. This saves them anxiety and inconvenience that they would experience if they decided to pursue their education somewhere else. Another comforting aspect of staying with your family is having people around to help with housework such as cleaning, cooking and so on, which often cuts into students' schedule.

These advantages, however, are sharply contrasted by the potential downsides. Most people in this category would have fewer chances to explore new opportunities and experience novelty in their lives. Over-dependence on parents and other relatives is another possible outcome of not traveling outside one’s place of birth for education.

Living away from home to study at a university, on the other hand, also has certain advantages to offer. The decision to study abroad can be the first step towards adult life. Once a student moves out on their own, they will have the opportunity to make decisions for themselves on most matters; it can be as simple as what to eat for dinner and as important as how to proceed after graduation. Independence to make such decisions will, in turn, build up their confidence, thus making them more mature. Most importantly, they get to discover themselves as a person in the process.

However, it is fair to say that living away from family can be a daunting prospect. One obvious challenge is going to be the responsibility that comes with having more control over one’s finances. Students who live on their own tend to manage their money themselves, so they have to be hyper-vigilant not to indulge in any form of reckless spending like going to fancy parties. Social disorientation is another probable side-effect of going away to study. This is often experienced when students struggle to adjust to the standards and norms of a new place.

To conclude, both decisions have a range of benefits, but they do present certain challenges to new students. It is important that students weigh up the pros and cons of either prospect in order to make a sound decision.