The growth of online courses will one day lead to all universities closing. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, online classes are becoming popular across the world at alarming rates. While it is true that this trend is likely to increase more in the future, I believe that this cannot lead all universities to close in the long run.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why online courses are increasing and making some universities get closed. The main one is connected to its affordability. It is clear that students who are learning through social media such as You tube and Telegram spend less money than traditional ones because they pay only for the lessons, not for the fare which may be great amount for those who live far from the university. Moreover, it creates increased flexibility for students learning from distance. For example, lessons bought are usually available in online platforms which may create comfort for students to learn at anytime and anywhere they like. For the above-mentioned reasons, online education is on the rise and can cause some university closures.

So, all the universities will be closed as a result of e-learning? Traditional university courses contain not only theoretical lessons but also practical ones too, which undergraduates cannot learn online. Take an example of Medicine, this field students have to be taught 5 years at least to master it, and almost 90 % of their learning processes are practical so that they can become qualified doctors. In addition, university is one of the best places to improve social interaction as it can help students make real friends which is often impossible to do on the Internet. Therefore, all university closings may not be possible.

To conclude, although online education is becoming common, I believe that some reasons may make certain universities exist.