Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree

This century has been dogged by a wave of people moving from their native lands mainly due to humanitarian reasons. This phenomenon has seen an influx of immigrants in more developed states. While I believe that it is the ethical thing to do, I do not agree with the assertion that privileged nations ought to take in more refugees and also provide them with basics.

Firstly, leaders are elected by the society and as such should ensure the welfare of the electorate. Moreover, it is the duty of every country to take care of its own citizens. Owing to the fact that the national budget is made to take care of the citizens. For example, most recently a South African governor criticized the Zimbabwean government for failing to provide for its nationals who are now filtering down south. As a result of the hardship at home. However, this development was now adversely impacting on SA's budget. As a human being one could criticize her for not being a good Samaritan, on the contrary she was merely pointing out how the administration in Zimbabwe was failing its citizenry.

In addition, it should be noted that people are more comfortable in their native countries than in a foreign land where they get to experience a new culture. Owing to this, regional bodies such as EU and international organizations such as the UN need to observe and enforce the respect for human rights among member states.

In conclusion, I disagree with the view that wealthy societies should welcome more refugees and see to their upkeep, rather such humanitarian issues should be a burden for all countries to carry.