Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Rich countries should not approve more refugees and not supply them with the basic help because this is not only a burden on national budget but also an unpopular policy.

More people who immigrate to a country by the refugee program will increase the demand of the government spending. These are due to expenses on these immigrants’ food and accommodation. Whatever types of expenditures the host nation support for the refugees, the public budget which should have spent for the local people will decrease gradually. Even though it is leading to the deficit of national finance if the government does not keep the balance under control. For example, Germany experienced the difficult period when it had to change its policy about spending for this type of immigrant to protect the financial resource.

Moreover, the policy which opens for the refugees may be unpopular, not because of the allocation of the budget, but more social problems may happen in these states. When the destitute evacuees enter the new countries, they may not adapt the new ways of life there due to different language. This situation brings to some negative effects on the community where they are living. Even some social evils might occur when they struggle with the adversity. For instance, the social unrest from the black in US recently has related to refugees who got the support from the government. For this reason, the local people disagree with this refugee program.

In conclusion, the developed nations should not approve of more refugees to their territory in order to avoid the financial and social consequences that may be harmful to the local residents.