Many modern shopping centres are now becoming more popular than local market shops. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this consumer behaviour? Provide specific reasons and examples to support your position.

It is undeniable that the latest shopping malls are more attractive to consumers than local market stores nowadays. This essay will suggest that a vast variety of products is the biggest advantage of this and higher price is the primary disadvantage.

To begin with, the main benefit the modern shopping centres bring to customers is that they offer a great number of products with a visible price so the buyers easily find out whatever they need under one roof. Particularly, all kinds of foods and gadgets such as rice, fruits and electronic devices have been provided there and this satisfies the busy buyers. There is more obvious evidence to show that whatever type of merchandise you used to buy at local shops is offered at modern shopping malls and this lead to consumers saving their time when buying. In contrast, it is inconvenient for consumers if local shops just supply some kind of goods excluding what customer want to buy. Co-op mart is prime example, where we are likely to buy anything we want.

Another point to consider is that the price of some products in shopping centres may be higher than that in small shops outside. This is because the sellers in super market have to pay more expenses than competitors who sell goods at local shops. As a result, they pass these expenditures to buyers in the form of higher price and that is the reason why the local stands still exist. A survey by Nelson showed that the price of the same product in super market is 8% higher than that in local shops. If the traders in shopping centres don’t control the price competitive, their market share will gradually decrease.

To sum up, the up-to-date shopping centres are more and more ubiquitous now because of numerous types of products that it supplies to customers although some certain goods are still more expensive than those in local market shops.