Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as food and housing.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly argued that rich nations such as the United States and Japan, should welcome a higher number of escapees and support them with primary life suppliances, including food and residence. This essay agrees to some extent with the statement because the wealthy nations can easily provide such supports with their budget, but this may also contribute to their countries’ security.

One clear reason for that is rich countries can afford refugees’ cost of living without any difficulty. In other words, they already have well-organised public utilities and world-class public health care ready for urgent cases which means they do not have to pay extra expenditure to take care of those stateless people. And they normally have social residences to provide housing to people with poverty. This can be shared to offer housing options for the refugees. For example, Russia welcomed around five thousand escapees in their country and provide them with vocational practice which helped them seek jobs to pay for their living themselves.

However, accepting too many refugees may contribute to unexpected security issues. When the nation allows people from elsewhere who do not understand their social discipline well to stay, they may adopt unacceptable or bad manners to society. This may lead to anti-social and violent behaviours which will then results in a growth of the crime rate in their country. The situation when the refugees from Myanmar illegally escape from the provided area and cause burglaries in the surrounding neighbourhood in Thailand can be an evident instance.

To conclude, I partly agree that wealthy nations should welcome and provide food and housing assistance to the refugees because they do not have to invest money on this such a thing; however, to do so may contribute to insecurity in their setting. Therefore, it is recommended that governments should release practical regulation to control the situation if they accept more refugees.