An American film actor once said: “Tomorrow is important and precious”. Some people think individuals and society should pay more attention to the future than to the present. Do you agree or disagree?

Whether living for the moment or preparing for the future remains a heated debate. In my opinion, either present days or the upcoming time is of paramount importance, so individuals and communities should focus on both.

On the one hand, it goes without saying that the present plays a crucial role in daily lives. In terms of individuals, as an old saying “ Prevention is better than cure”, paying attention to health for the moment in time is the key to fight back serious medical conditions. According to World Health Organization, taking 10000 steps a day as well as doing a plenty of exercise on a regular basis not only relieve stress levels but also reduce the risk of high blood pressure or stroke. This directly suggests that boosting the wellbeing now is likely to extend life expectancy in the future. In terms of the society, failing to address the environmental problems for the time being poses a great threat to the ecological balance. To be more specific, widespread deforestation and exponential population growth are exerting severe pressure on finite sources that may come at the expense of the pristine environment. If the governments did not take immediate action to tackle environmental depletion, the worst-case scenario, which is mass erosion, could be expected.

On the other hand, it is a foregone conclusion that the future deserves undivided attention from inhabitants. In other words, the future is unforeseeable, so nations would better be well-prepared for the doom days, or else mass fatalities would be on the cards. A case in point is America, a country which failed to keep the stockpile of medical devices beforehand and is ramping up in the death toll due to the shortage of ventilators in the midst of corona virus pandemic. What can be inferred from this is preparing for the future is integral to the sustainability of life.

In conclusion, future plans ensure that people can live their life to the fullest, but enjoying life for the time being do wonders for the wellbeing of individuals and nature. Therefore, laying stress on the future or the present is both worthwhile, so citizens should adjust to live for both.