People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves their families and the society so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

Working longer hours has been a matter of broad interest in contemporary life. I believe that this trend not only has a severe impact on the workers themselves but also on their families and the community as a whole. Therefore, I agree with the idea of limiting working hours.

On an individual level, exceeding average daily working hours may adversely affect employees’ health. If workers devoted too much time to work, there would be little room for leisure activities to recharge themselves, such as watching movies, running, to name but two. As a consequence, they would be constantly in the stage of exhaustion, which may increase the chance of suffering from various health issues, ranging from fatigue to more serious problems like anxiety disorders or even stroke.

To add further credence to my assertion, I note that extended hours of work also have serious consequences for families and communities. At the family level, busy working schedules prevent people from taking frequent family trips or even just having meals together. Relationships among members thus are greatly weakened if they cannot make time for each other. In terms of community life, overworked people do not devote time to voluntary activities that bring benefits for their society. My uncle, for example, hardly has time for local community service projects such as conservation work or working with a charity because he works more than sixty hours per week.

In conclusion, I would argue that working time should be reduced since the frequency of long working hours exerts an adverse effect on employees, their family bonds, and their community.