In the modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animals for food, clothing or medicine. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that these days, thanks to advances and breakthroughs in science and technology, the consumption of animals for foodstuffs, garments and pharmaceutical products is no longer of necessity. From my standpoint, this view is wholesomely plausible for a number of compelling reasons, which will be outlined below.

First and foremost, it goes without saying that human can maintain a good health without consuming meat on daily meals. This is because nutrients found in plant-based diet is likely to be sufficient enough to substitute for red meat. An excellent example of this would be mushrooms and tofu contain high levels of protein, a kind of nutrient presumably only found in meat, and can therefore be used as feasible alternatives. Given what a vegetable-rich diet has to offer, human do not need to eat red meat to sustain a healthy life.

Granted, animal testing plays a crucial role in medical field when it comes to human safety, but nowadays it is no longer of great importance due to the emergence of advanced technology. Gone are the days when physicians have to put down mice or rats to test the safety of a product, because animal experimentation can now be replaced with sophisticated computer programs and still deliver great results. An excellent example of this would be C, a synonymous cosmeceutical brand which has successfully developed a computer based testing system; therefore, managing to launch a variety of cruelty free products.

Last but not least, with the advent of artificial materials, human no longer have to exploit animals for manufacturing clothes. Thanks to the mass production of man-made fur and high-quality synthesized fabric, which are way more cheaper than natural materials, human can fulfill their clothing demand in a way that poses no threat to the existence of animals. As can been seen, hardly is there demand for wool at the supermarket because consumers are provided with a plenty of viable options, ranging from polyester to silk.

In conclusion, it seems to me that human beings can still need a normal life without sacrificing animals, greatly due to wholesome veggies, computer stimulations and man-made materials.