Animal species are becoming extinct as a result of human activities on land and in sea. Why has this happened? What's the solution?

It is true that many terrestrial and marine animal species are now endangered as a result of the actions of humans. Various forms of environmental destruction have brought about this situation, and solutions must be found and implemented urgently.

The decline in many animal species stems from pollution or habitat destruction.Pollution resulting from human activity is one of the main reasons why manyanimals are on the brink of extinction. Aquatic life, such as coral reefs, are particularly sensitive to such irresponsible behaviour as the dumping of toxic waste into oceans and rivers. Another important factor is the environmental degradation caused by deforestation and the industrialization of agriculture. Tigers in Indonesia, for example, rarely survive in the wild following the clearing of rainforests, and they are now protected in designated wildlife reserves where, at least, they have freedom to roam, to exhibit their natural behaviour andto breed.

Solutions must be adopted to deal with this decline in animal species. Investment in sanitation systems will help protect water sources on which humans and animals both depend to survive. The marine environment must be cleaned up and international legislation strictly enforced to prevent actions such as the discharge of chemical waste into the sea or the practice of whaling. In order to save species from extinction, the conservation role of zoos must be prioritized. Many zoos and safari parks, for example, now have successful captive breeding programmes, of which the giant panda is perhaps the most famous. Endangered species must be protected also in their natural habitats through the elimination of poaching and the creation of more wildlife reserves.

In conclusion, humans are part of the animal kingdom and have a moral duty to save species from extinction by taking steps to curb pollution and habitat destruction.