Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There can be no doubt that the topic of remote learning and working is one which deserves some analysis. It is the opinion of this writer that this phenomenon is a positive development. This essay will substantiate the writer's position with three main points: the pressure on utility supply, alleviated climate change, and better work-life balance.

On the one hand, home-based work and schooling can exaggerate the strain on utility supply. One possible explanation for this is the increasing demand for electricity. Since electric devices, namely laptops and mobile phones, serve various professional and recreational purposes simultaneously for all family members, the electricity usage may skyrocket. As a consequence, this may result in an accelerating pressure on the supply of electricity.

On the other hand, working virtually can help mitigate climate change issues. This is because when people work from home, theere will be less traffic congestion due to the decreased need to commute. Furthermore, it is undeniable that traffic jam is one of the main contributors to global warming. Therefore, the less traffic there is, the more beneficial it will be for the environment. This holds great significance because it would greatly assist in lessening the effect of natural catastrophes, namely hurricanes.

Additionally, one more benefit that it produces is better management of work-life aspects. On the grounds that people can minimize such unnecessary time budget as commute time, they can gain a more flexible control of time for other categories. To illustrate, because clerical workers may travel less to their offices, they would be able to expend more time on leisure, developing bonds with their families, and engaging in desired online courses that fit their schedule. As a result, they will have ample chances to enhance their life quality.

It can be seen that although home-based work and schooling may pose an increasing strain on utility supply, it assists in alleviating climate change problems and offers more optimal work-life management. The ample evidence and reasons provided can conclude that this phenomenon is a positive development.