Education is not a luxury, but a basic human right and as such should be free for everyone irrespective of personal wealth. Do you agree or disagree?

Education has always proven itself to be the pillar of development across all sectors of society. With its importance, schooling should be a tool that is accessible to everyone without having financial liabilities to inhibit it. As such, I wholeheartedly agree with the given notion.

The foremost case for free education lies in the fact that it enables the workforce to be more productive and efficient. An educated workforce will prove to be an asset in this rapidly evolving world, where automation and technology are inseparable in flourishing industries. Jobs that require manual labor are steadily diminishing as machines can do the same tasks with better outcomes and fewer resources required. A prime case in point is the manufacturing industry, where product assembly could be more accurately done by robots than humans. As such, with an instated system of education unrestrained by budgets, unemployment will be less dire, and higher-skilled workers can be trained, in turn mobilizing the nation towards speedy development.

Another reason in favor of this is the drawbacks of monetized education, especially in terms of solving social issues. One headache all nations face is dealing with job provision for its citizen. Were the people to be schooled adequately, they could better leverage their employment opportunities. Otherwise, not only will an increasing part of the population face joblessness, but the government will have to spend more on social welfare bills. This is indeed a problem for every economy, and it could be effectively tackled by allowing free access to study.

Finally, the debate settles on the ethical aspects of charging to be educated. Human rights dictate a person to have all development rights, and the best possible instrument for that is through schools and institutions. By ostracizing access to learning for reasons of being unable to pay for them, it is equivalent to taking the rights of aspiring and harboring dreams to become a productive member of society. Should money be an integral part of education, inequalities would be widened, gender-based dogmas persistent, social crimes left undealt, among other issues that would ensue. It is not only going to affect the economy or overall development of a country alone, but it would also be the prohibitor of the civil society we try to strive for.

Ultimately, concerning the topic from developmental, economical, and ethical points of view, it is proven that studying is imperative to every person of all backgrounds. As such, liberating it from monetary worries is not just a vital need, but a necessity for every aspect of society.