Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crimes.

To what extent do you agree?

Public safety is a prime concern to many people. In response to the increasing quantity of crime occurrences, some feel the need for added policing forces. However, I wholeheartedly disagree with this notion, believing that this is not the most ideal change we should seek, due to the potential efficiency and the presence of other more effective and deep-rooted measures.

While a crime profusion is a credible source of worry, upsizing police stations will cause more panic than solving them. For starters, most of the public distresses nowadays are caused by minor offenses, such as the occasional mugging, petty crimes, or similar kinds of occurrences. The existing task force is adequate to deal with those incidents. If we were to increase the number of officers, it could backfire and elicit a sense of greater fear in the community. With more fear, a sense of unease is always imminent, and discord could spread. Instead, clear actions such as the implementation of manual patrols and timely helplines could do better to ease the mind of the citizens. If the public feels protected and has their problems dealt with, the need for increased policing is then going to become subsided.

Another problem of increased police presence is the downsizing budget for other more effective and long-term programs. Over-policing is going to come with extra spending, consequently forming a budget disparity for sectors such as education, rehabilitation, and drug-prevention programs. Clearly, in tackling crimes, the most effective method is to tackle them at the root, in educating and implementing initiatives to counter them before they even started. As such, the extra body mass can only be there to prevent the situation in a short-term view, not to completely eradicate it. What is more, it has the potential to incite fear and distrust as mentioned in the point above.

With such views in mind, public servants could better facilitate changes on a deeper level by leveraging that wherewithal and allocate to better intervention programs. Brute force is the primitive way of dealing with this problem firsthand. Adequate planning is key to crime reduction, such as education and preventative measures.