Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crimes.

To what extent do you agree?

Public safety is a prime concern to numerous people. In response to the increasing quantity of crime occurrences, some feel the need for strengthened policing forces. However, I wholeheartedly disagree with this notion, believing that this is not the most ideal change we should seek, due to the potential efficiency and the presence of other effective and epoch-making measures.

While a crime profusion is a credible source of worry, upsizing police stations will cause more panic than solving them. For starters, most of the public distress nowadays is caused by minor offenses, such as the occasional mugging, petty thefts, or occurrences of similar fashion. The existing task force is adequate to deal with those incidents. Should we mobilize more officers, the effect could backfire and prompt fear mongers in the community, destabilizing an already trepid population. Fear breeds fear, and before long, conspiracies and uncontrollable rumors can instigate discord within communities. Instead, firm implementation of manual patrols and timely helplines could do better to ease the mind of the citizens. If the public feels protected and has their problems dealt with, the need for increased policing will then be subsided.

Another problem of increased police presence is the downsizing budget for other long-lasting and deep-rooted initiatives. Over-policing will generate extra spending, consequently forming a budget disparity for sectors such as education, rehabilitation, and drug-prevention programs. Evidently, in tackling crimes, nourishing the seedbed of a civilized society through education is a more everlasting alternative. Our job is to cultivate change, not react to them. Consequently, the extra body mass can only be there to prevent the situation in a short-term view, not to completely eradicate it. Fostering a well-nurtured society can motivate those in it to follow suit.

With such views in mind, public servants could better facilitate changes on a fundamental level by leveraging that wherewithal and allocate to better intervention programs. Brute force is the primitive way of dealing with this problem, thus must be innovated via education rather than erstwhile.