Many people say that globalisation and the growing number of multinational companies have a negative effect on the environment.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There can be no doubt that the topic of globalisation is one which deserves some analysis. It is the opinion of this writer that completely advocates the idea that globalisation and the growing number of multinational companies have a negative effect on the environment because globalisation can pose a serious threat on natural resources and using modern machinery can affect the environment.

Globalisation can pose a serious threat on natural resources. Government must modernize and expand the land for their nation to develop, which will endanger the environment. To illustrate, governments must cut down forests to modernize their countries and this will deprive the animals of their habitat. This is because the governments of countries desire their countries to be able to develop so as not to fall behind with the times. As a result, most of the government has to deforestate. Thus, globalisation can pose a serious threat to natural resources.

Using modern machinery can affect the environment. Modern machines when operating can emit gasses that are harmful to the environment. For instance, the use of regular hole appliances such as air conditioners and refrigerators are a prime source of carbon monoxide which is highly poisonous to the atmosphere. This is because if the machinery is more modern, the environment will be more polluted because of the waste generated by the machine. Therefore, using modern machinery can affect the environment.

It can be seen that globalization can pose a serious threat on natural resources and using modern machinery can affect the environment. To conclude, this writer agrees with the idea that globalisation and the growing number of multinational companies have a negative effect on the environment.