Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There is an increasing number of families opt for home-schooling in recent years thanks to technogical advances. In my opinion, this phenomenon has both its merits and drawbacks, both will be discussed below.

It is understandable why some parents advocate to learning at home. The first rationale is that this way of education would encourage kids to learn by themselves which stimulate their growth of creatity and self-reliance. The essential elements may be hard to find in traditional educational system. Another point in support of this view is that the time spent on study would be flexible. This enables children to enjoy other activities which encourage their natural development including running, family gatherings. Finally, the impacts of the systematic approach are likely to be thwarted. To illustrate, scoring test, which is the main culprit of stress among pulpis in schools would be eliminated when accquiring new knowledge at home.

On the other hand, studying at home has some disavantages due to the short of supervision and social interaction. Without being supervised by their parents, students tend not to pay attention while learning owning to many sources of distraction available at home. This would result in undesirable results of the method. Another point of view is that self-study would strip off the opportunitiesof chidren to engage in social activities. Thus, the youngsters may find it difficult to build relationships in their later life. Futhermore, given their constant exposure to electrics screens at home, the young may experience of various optical issues.

In sum, home-schooling offers children with more leisuretime and motivate them to live naturally. However, this may affect their academic progress due to noises and lack of social interaction.