Art classes like painting and drawing are important to students’ development and they should be compulsory in high school.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that arts should be a required course in senior high school for students' integrated improvement. While teenagers could benefit a lot with additional art training, negative effects would be generated if all pupils are forced to do so.

There are various advantages to introduce art lessons into school education system. Firstly, given the age of the high school students, they are still on the progress of growth, so with the help of art course their mental maturity can be improved in more aspects. Secondly, these classes will give a valuable chance for students to know themselves and help them find new way for their future path. For example, some of my high school students decided to chose arts as a major for further study in the university after trying arts courses, which lead to a career related to arts. Finally, if pupils have chances to learn about arts and be interested in it, they would have more entertainment choices during the future life, such as going to the museum, arts club.

On the other hand, add arts classes into the curriculum as a requirement for graduation would not always have positive effects. Since not all students have interests on arts, they would prefer to spend more time on courses they like, especially when arts could not bring any benefits for their future careers. If forced them to do so, their learning motivations would decline.

In conclusion, it is no doubt that introducing arts into the education system can bring a variety of benefits. If these course could be made optional rather than obligatory, certain negative effects could be avoided.