Art classes such as painting or drawing are important for children's development, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people claim that art classes such as painting or drawing play an important role in children’s development so this type of class should be obligatory in high school. While it is true that art classes are beneficial for students to some extent, I disagree with the idea that students should be forced to take part in these classes in high school.

To begin with, there are some benefits of art classes for children’s development. Firstly, art can develop children’s creativity. For example, to draw a garden, each child has a different image of the garden or links many different ideas in a new way in their paintings. Therefore, this helps to improve their ability to think outside the box and innovate. Secondly, because children are free to draw what they like, they can express their own ideas, feelings, and personality through their art products. For example, children can choose any topic, color, and material to draw what they want on the paper. Thus, art subjects could boost the confidence and self-esteem of children.

However, I believe that art subjects should not be compulsory in high school’s curriculum because of some reasons. Firstly, many other subjects might also help children develop their creativity. For example, in literature children can paint a clear picture for readers with words instead of drawing. Furthermore, to equip them with enough knowledge and skills for their future, children might need to focus on other major subjects such as language, math, and social studies. Finally, because not all children love to learn art such as drawing or painting, they should not be forced to follow this subject in school.

However, I believe that art subjects should not be compulsory in high school’s curriculum because of some reasons. Firstly, since art classes do not provide essential knowledge, chidren should not be forced to learn. Furthermore, because not all children love to learn art such as drawing or painting, which leads to a waste of time of money. Finally, nany children do not have the talent to perform arts. For instance, some students who cannot sing well might feel embarrassed during lessons. This leads to negative impact on chidren.

In conclusion, while art classes can contribute to children’s development to some extent, I believe that these classes should not be obligatory in high school.