Art classes such as painting or drawing are important for children's development, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

It is supposed by some people that art subjects should be officially applied for high school students due to the benefits for children’s growth. While I advocate the importance of these classes, I would argue that these subjects should not become an obligation to students.

To begin with, there are some reasons why painting or drawing should be included in the official education system. First and foremost, art classes might still be unpopular subjects in many countries, especially Asian countries. Therefore, encouraging students to learn art subjects is a way to find out the potential abilities of the children which they could not realize. By contrast, if they do not have an opportunity to try learning art, there could be a waste of geniuses who can contribute their talents to their countries’ development. Secondly, since students have to sketch the landscapes or the appearances of people, they could enrich their imagination and ideas. As a result, these people could apply their brilliant imagination in some other main subjects such as Maths or Physics, which helps to enhance their academic performances.

However, I would argue that it would not be obliged in high school for some reasons. The first reason is that as some poor families have to pay extra money for new compulsory subjects, the financial burden could put heavily on students’ parents. If students are still obliged to join art classes, they might have to quit their studying paths due to their financial conditions. Furthermore, because of the different hobbies amongst students, compulsory would make them accomplish these subjects with negative attitudes. Consequently, this would bring some unwanted impacts and lead to a waste of time and money. For instance, my niece often copies some available pictures on the Internet to hand out to her teacher in the drawing subject, which she could spend this time on her favorite subjects such as Literature or History.

In conclusion, although art classes play a crucial role in children ‘s intellectual development, I believe that students should be permitted to select their favorite subjects instead of being forced.